Becoming an HVAC Technician in Jacksonville, Florida
If you are considering a career as a HVAC technician, you may be making an excellent choice. The HVAC field is growing by 22 percent through 2022, which means there will be many well-paying jobs opening up. Ever-expanding new technology is creating a need for skilled technicians who are able to keep up with the demand of installing and repairing necessary equipment. HVAC equipment is everywhere, homes, plants, hospitals, schools and other businesses, so there is a wide variety of work. A great benefit of choosing an HVAC technician career is that training does not require a lot of money or time. A high school diploma or GED and technical training in the use of power tools is a must. Trade schools offer certificate programs in as little as six months up to two years. These will lead to entry position, but future jobs in sales, distribution and management are available for those with the proper skills.The State of Florida has several excellent and convenient options when it comes to HVAC training.
Tulsa Welding School-Jacksonville Campus at 3500 Southside Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32216. Telephone: (904) 236-5833 or 765-5555. The Tulsa Welding School in Jacksonville has a seven-month training program for Refrigeration HVAC technician. The focus of the program is hands-on training for air conditioning, heating, ventilation and refrigeration maintenance and repair. The program also includes modern, green technology methods. The program prepares students to trouble shoot for electrical wiring and circuits, as well as the handling the dual voltage systems necessary for HVACs. Graduates of the program are prepared for entry-level refrigeration maintenance and installation positions. The program will prepare you to take the EPA certifications.
Florida Career College – 6600 Youngerman Circle, Jacksonville, FL 32244. Telephone: (888) 609-8959. The Florida Career College has a Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) program that will prepare you for installation and maintenance of residential and commercial equipment. This 36-week program is geared to prepare you for EPA certification. The cost of the program is $20,500.00.
The curriculum will train you for entry positions as
1. Air Conditioning technician, installer and mechanic
2. Refrigeration technician, installer and mechanic
You will learn about heating and cooling methodology and principles and the use of various tools and techniques for refrigeration and heating systems, electrical controls, and servicing principles.
Florida State College – 101 West State Street, Jacksonville, Florida. Telephone: (904) 633-8100. Florida State College offers 2 two-year program in HVAC technology and 2 certificate programs for Air Conditioning, Refrigeration and Heating Systems Technician and for Air Conditioning, Refrigeration and Heating Systems Assistant Technician. The two-year Air Conditioning, Refrigeration and Heating Systems Technology degree will prepare you for supervisory positions in the HVAC field. The degree program consists of 15 credit hours in the general humanities and 21 credit hours in professional trade courses, including HVAC theory, duct system design, basic electricity, and HVAC co-op work experience.
Florida HVAC Certification Programs
There are five separate HVAC certificates required by the State of Florida. Each has its own area of specialization, which means the more certificates you have, the greater your value will be to a prospective employer.
1. Air Conditioning, Refrigeration and Heating Systems Assistant Certificate
2. Air Conditioning, Refrigeration and Heating Systems Technician Certificate
3. Associate in Applied Science in Air Conditioning, Refrigeration and Heating Systems Technology
4. Associate in Science in Air Conditioning, Refrigeration and Systems Technologies
5. An additional and separate certificate is required to work on refrigerants that are ozone depleted. This is an important certificate preferred by most hiring agencies.
HVAC Licensing in the State of Florida
In addition to certification, the State of Florida has several licensing requirements for HVAC technicians.
1. State Certified Class A Florida HVAC License – this license has a fee of $355.00. To qualify, you must meet on-the-job requirement, and you will need to show proof of workers compensation insurance. This license allows you to work throughout the State of Florida
2. State Registered Class A Florida HVAC License – this license has a registration fee of $100.00. There is no examination, and you will be able to work in local areas after meeting all local work requirements.
3. State Certified Class B HVAC License – this license has a fee of $354.00. It requires an examination and a four-year degree or four years of working experience. This license will allow you to work only on cooling systems lighter than 20 tons and heating systems with a lower than 500,000 BTU.
4. State Registered Class B HVAC License – this license has a registration fee of $100 and limits your work to cooling systems lighter than 20 tons and heating systems with a lower than 500,000 BTU. You will need to contact local government facility and adhere to local requirements.
For an HVAC contractor’s license, you need to be 18 years or older with a minimum of four years of experience. You will need to provide a financial statement proving a net worth of more than $2,500, as well as liability insurance in the amount of $100,000 for bodily injury and property damage insurance in the amount of $25,000. The HVAC contractor’s license examination consists of 2 separate four and a half hour tests. The cost of the examination is 135.00 and you need to pass at a level of 70 level. Call the State of Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation for additional details at 1-850-487-1395.